Most Relaxing Song on Earth?

I read in a couple places, including TIME magazine, that this is supposedly the most relaxing song on earth: Weightless by Marconi Union

I can see why they don’t recommend listening to it while operating heavy machinery, but I also feel like the title of “most relaxing song” should go to a song that – while relaxing – at least holds your attention for a while. Check out Amor Fati by Washed Out for something more around the lines of what I would give that title to. I’m still not sure if the title’s a compliment, by the way.

For some better music news, the recent Fleet Foxes video for “The Shrine / An Argument” is outstanding. The animation was directed by Robin Pecknold’s brother, and features some characters that remind me of the Japanese Oni (see below).

EDIT: You can also check out more of the animator’s artworks here. Thanks to Justin Dainer-Best for pointing out Stacey Rozich’s site.

http://www.veoh.com/swf/webplayer/WebPlayer.swf?version=AFrontend.5.7.0.1301&permalinkId=v241623039NXrfXW6&player=videodetailsembedded&videoAutoPlay=0&id=anonymous
Watch Fleet Foxes – The Shrine / An Argument (OFFICIAL VIDEO) in Music  |  View More Free Videos Online at Veoh.com

On a last note for today, I’ve been writing a paper about what the benefits might be of exposing students to artwork that deals explicitly with violence in an art classroom. I’m particularly interested in what kinds of discussions could take place, and what the set up/contextualization might look like in order to have a truly productive encounter with such objects. Take a look at this artwork and see what you think. It’s by Jake and Dinos Chapman, and is based on an old Goya print. I’m not sure I would get parental approval for this one, and I’m not sure I should. BUT, when do we expose students to contemporary art such as this? To what extent do they already have the tools to deal with this?

Leave a Reply

